Tag // The Blogger Recognition Award

Blogger Recognition Award.png

Who? Me? Little old me?

I was tagged by the lovely Krystin @ Here’s The Fucking Twist for this award!

Thank you so much for thinking of me Krystin!

If you haven’t checked out her blog already go and do that now! She’s brilliant and hilarious which is the best combo in a blogger.

Cloud Separation

The Tasks

So this award is pretty simple in terms of what you need to do but the answers are definitely ones I had to have a good think on regardless.

Icon Separation

1. How I started My Blog

I had wanted to start a blog for a while.

I actually had a blog back when I was a teenager that didn’t do nearly as well as I have done this time around but it was a great way to get out my emotions.

I’ve been pretty deep in the book community the last 2 years after rediscovering my love for reading for the hundredth time. I started reading more than I have ever read before and kept track of my progress on Goodreads which, prior to 2016, had been an app that mostly just sat on my phone and get very little use.

Once I had been on Goodreads for a while, I decided that I wanted to try my hand at writing reviews. I read so many wonderful reviews to help myself make the best book choices that I was really inspired to do the same.

Books are something I have always been passionate about and I always love talking about them so why not find a new place to do just that?

Last year was quite rough for me and books, and the community that came with them had become such a great distraction that early this year I knew I should truly take advantage of that.

So I started my blog as Greyson Reads and it has gone under several brand makeovers since then, including recently a new name, Use Your Words, a term I am kind of known for using IRL.

It quickly became the one place I could turn to and get away from the increasing toxicity around me. I fell in love with all the people in this community and have not looked back since.

This place and the people here became a safe space for me when I no longer felt like I had one. I will forever be grateful for that!

new girl nick this is good computer writing blogging typing.gif

Icon Separation

2. My Blogging Advice

☁️ Write what you want to write. Sure follow the stats to a point but if you’re not enjoying something, can it.

☁️ Work to your strengths. Do you write great reviews? Make them the feature of your blog! Are you super creative? Make your own tags, post series!

☁️ Take breaks if you need to. I’ve already taken 2 hiatuses from blogging and I haven’t even been doing it for a year yet. Sometimes you need a break. This is meant to be fun! Don’t let it become too much like work.

☁️ Take advantage of the scheduling feature in WordPress. It’s your best friend.

☁️ Talk to people! Get out there, comment on other bloggers’ posts, interact with your readers. No one ever really likes the faceless person behind the screen. Let your personality be known.

☁️ Most importantly, be you. I know, cliche much but it’s true. Even if it’s the heightened version of you that you can’t be IRL.

how i met your mother barney blog.gif

Lightning Separation

I tag;

  1. Jillian @ Jillian The Bookish Butterfly
  2. Marta @ The Cursed Books
  3. Melanie @ Mel To The Any
  4. Vicky @ Vicky Who Reads
  5. Nicole @ The Bookworm Drinketh
  6. Em @ Runaway With Dream Thieves 
  7. Marie @ Drizzle And Hurricane Books
  8. May @ Forever and Everly
  9. Carrie @ Carrie’s Book Reviews
  10. Dani @ Touch My Spine Book Reviews
  11. Olivia @ Purely Olivia
  12. Ellyn @ Allonsythornraxxbooks
  13. Fadwa @ Word Wonders
  14. Laura @ Green Tea & Paperbacks
  15. Kelly @ Another Book in the Wall

Cloud & Lightning Separation

That was nice and quick! We love an easy post.

What advice do you have for new bloggers? 
How did you start?
Been thinking of starting but need a little push? Comment and I’ll give you my best of Greyson Encouragement!

BlogGoodreadsInstagramTwitterTumblr

Sign Off

30 thoughts on “Tag // The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thanks for the tag!! I loved hearing about how you started your blog, goodreads is such a fantastic forum to start on to get the feel for things!
    Great advice, as well. I really have to remember some of it… Like how NOT to burn myself out! 😅😂

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah saying no is a skill learned that’s for sure. I used to be really terrible at saying no when I was younger then I went through a really rough time because I would always say yes so that kind of forced me into learning to say no if I didn’t want to go through that again.

          Stick to your guns, if you’re already overwhelmed and have a lot on your plate say that you’ll try to get to them if you have time but you make no promises and then they can decide if they want to agree with those terms or not.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww, thank you so much for tagging me! I’m usually slow about these things, but I’ll definitely try and do this ASAP! All of your advice is SO spot on–loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.